Throwing up your hands might be all you could do…

22710799.jpgin this case.

Let's carry this out to its logical conclusions, shall we?:

– In a world history class, studying World War Two: "Isn't all that Holocaust stuff just a myth?  Didn't they make those movies in Hollywood?'

– In an American history class: "Isn't it true that Blacks never had it so good as when they came over here as slaves?  I mean, Africa was so primitive back then."

– In another American history class: "The Indians were just savages.  Putting them on reservations just made their lives simpler, right?"

– In another American history class: "The worst thing that ever happened to women was giving them the right to vote, right?  Before then, they had it soooo easy…"

Read what some of these kids said to this teacher.  Convince me they aren't being provided with a script by someone with an agenda.  The agenda I see is designed to completely disrupt this teacher's teaching, to undermine the educational process for political purposes.  The rest of the students in this class are being denied a science-based education by disruptive students who ask inappropriate ("Don't you go to church?  Don't you believe in God?") and irrelevent questions.

The "debate" here is something to be taken up in a comparative religion class, not in a biology class.  In biology, there is no debate about evolution.  We know this from the facts.

Don't bring your version of your faith into my classroom, if you only intend to use it as a weapon to keep me from doing my job as a teacher.  Don't send your students into my classroom with an agenda designed to disrupt my teaching and keep other kids from learning what I'm being paid to teach.

And I promise to keep my grammar lessons out of your pulpit.

(photo from LA Times)

3 comments so far

  1. clandestiny on

    This part of the article stood out to me:
    “They’re saying they don’t know how to respond…. They haven’t done the research the kids have done on this,” said Linda Froschauer…

    How does one graduate from college with a degree related to the biological sciences, without knowing more about evolution than a 10th grader? These are the sorts of questions that I was taught in Sunday School. I loved my biology class and was skeptical of my Sunday School teacher, so I took those questions to class expecting answers. I was shocked when my teacher didn’t know how to explain particulars of the theory.

    Being a young theological punk, I never told my Sunday School teacher that the questions had “worked,” but the experience really shook me up.

  2. David on

    I’ll give you that one. It is pretty shocking when I hear examples of things like this. It is amazing to me what many teachers of a particular subject -esp. young teachers – do not know about their “specialties.” At the very least, teachers should follow the line of thinking that goes with the rule litigators follow: never ask a question you don’t already know the answers to. Never teach something you really don’t know upside down and backwards.

    And be prepared for when kids like the ones in this article show up with their hands raised. Seems to me that any teacher of biology with 1/2 a brain would know that this is coming, and would be prepared for it.

    The the rest of my point is this: How far should a classroom teacher go “entertaining” questions like these?

  3. David on

    PS: Glad you found me here!


Leave a Reply

