There is power in a UNION.

Today was the day our "Association" voted to ratify (or not) our new three-year contract.  I am a building rep for my half of the school in which I teach.  I got to "run" the election there.  It's my first one in this role.  I am not happy about what I think the outcome will be, but being involved this deeply has really got my teacher enthusiasm going across the board, so that's a good thing. 

I'm feeling very Woody Guthrie-Joe Hill-Billy Bragg today.

There is Power In The Union 

There is power in a factory, power in the land 
Power in the hand of the worker 
But it all amounts to nothing if together we don't stand 
There is power in a Union  

Now the lessons of the past were all learned with workers' blood 
The mistakes of the bosses we must pay for
From the cities and the farmlands to trenches full of mud
War has always been the bosses way, sir 
 
The Union forever defending our rights                                                 
Down with the blackleg, all workers unite
With our brothers and our sisters from many far-off lands
There is power in a Union  

Now I long for the morning that they realise 
Brutality and unjust laws cannot defeat us
But who'll defend the workers who cannot organise
When the bosses send there lackeys out to cheat us? 

Money speaks for money, the Devil for his own
Who comes to speak for the skin and the bone?
What a comfort to the widow, a light to the child
There is power in a Union

The Union forever defending our rights
Down with the blackleg, all workers unite
With our brothers and our sisters from many far-off lands 
There is power in a Union.

No comments yet

Leave a comment